Skip to content

Hope

February 7, 2017

Super bowl Sunday ads, one of the reasons people watch. What will make us laugh, cry, ponder.

When this ad came on I watched the little girl picked up her first piece of trash and wondered what was she going to make? Maybe it’s the artist in me but I knew she was going to make something wonderful.  As I watched I could see her carefully pick each piece as an artist would do. I became more curious as to what she was planning to make. You couldn’t really tell what she had in mind with the few things she had picked up, then the commercial ended with a message to go and watch the rest of the journey. I had to go see, to watch the Journey. I had to see what this little girl had planned to make.

I was overwhelmed with emotion! A long journey only to be slapped in the face with this endless wall. A mothers hope lost! And this little girl, just wanting her mom to realize there was still hope. She reaches into her bag and pulls out her creation, a BEAUTIFULLY made American flag! A symbol of HOPE!

I can’t believe this was banned from broadcast. The Best Super Bowl commercial this year! Thank you 84 Lumber, thank you for reminding us all.

 

The full, uncut 84 Lumber Super Bowl promotional film. See a mother and daughter’s symbolic migrant journey towards becoming legal American citizens. Contains content deemed too controversial for the original ad and banned from broadcast.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

