Skip to content

“Clean” Cooler

September 8, 2016

maytagwasher

Back in 2009, my mom was getting rid of her old Maytag washing machine. She was going to call the scrap it. I told her I’d take it and make something cool with it. At the time I did know what I’d do with it but I knew I had to have it and give it new life. It held memories from my youth. That thing smashed my fingers and gave me a shock that I’ll never forget!

It sat for a few years and then it came to me…. A cooler!

So I put Bryan to work! I had to give him something to do. 😉  He took it apart and cut a piece of aluminum to make a drain in the bottom. And I sanded it, after all I had to do something, it was my idea.

cooler-3

Then we put it back together and sprayed foam underneath and up the sides to insolate it.

img_1751

We then painted it a bright blue.

img_1334

It quickly faded so we repainted it brown. I love it even more now!

img_1748   img_1749

We left beverages in it for two days on a hot summer day and they were still cold!

img_1754

One of the BEST things I’ve ever recycled! And now it holds new and old memories. 🙂

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

