Skip to content

A Gift for A Friend

March 17, 2016

Back in 2014, my dear friend Marilyn came to me and ask if  I’d make a teddy bear from a shirt that belonged to her son who had pasted away. It would be for his granddaughter, her great-granddaughter. I was so honored that she would ask me to make it.  I received the shirt and was a bit overwhelmed. I didn’t want to mess this up! There was no going back once I started cutting. A pattern was picked and the projected began.

shirttobearandpillow (6)shirttobearandpillow (3)

shirttobearandpillow (5)

After finishing the teddy bear, I had a little fabric left. I knew how much this shirt meant to my friend, so I decided to make her a pillow from the scraps that were leftover. After cutting my pieces I cut the rest into small pieces and used it as filling along with my batting and placed the buttons on the pillow.  Nothing was wasted.

shirttobearandpillow (12)shirttobearandpillow (8)

I surprised her with the pillow. She was so happy we both teared up! I was so happy she liked the end result. Even though the teddy bear ended up looking like Sid from Ice Age. Haha!

shirttobearandpillow (9)

A year later she came to me once again. This time with a t-shirt, asking for a baby blanket for his grandson. Her great-grandson.  Again very honored! Didn’t know what I was going to do with a t-shirt. My friend Marilyn told me it was a jungle theme so I went with it. I found this image of a monkey and drew it out.

20150401_151212

Here they are at the baby shower. They were all very happy with the blanket. Marilyn told me everyone cried.

IMG_1941

The gift was for her, but I felt as though I had received the gift. The gift of blessing someone with a memory that will last a lifetime.

Happy Sewing!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

