Skip to content

Bowling Ball Garden Art

May 22, 2015

I love making art for the garden! Recently I finished this.

Bowling ball to garden art (3)

Bowling ball to garden art (1)Bowling ball to garden art (2)

I found a bowling ball at my local thrift store and I had a few rocks left over from my daughters wedding. I used Gorilla glue (supper glue) because it sets really fast. I also used Loctite power grab. You can get both at Home Depot. Why you wonder, because I ran out of the supper glue and really wanted to finish it. The Loctite doesn’t set as quickly but did work.  I started at the top and worked my way around, rotating the ball until I could no longer work on it. Then I flipped it over to finish.

Now you know how to do it. Get a ball and start gluing!

Update 6/17/15: Both of the glues I used failed! I wanted to toss it in the trash but I’ll give it another try. 

bowlingball

I’ll be trying a new waterproof glue called Omni-stick. Please, please, please work!

7 Comments leave one →
  1. Debra Bond permalink
    November 22, 2015 6:15 pm

    I hope it’s not too late to get a question in here. Did both the glues (Gorilla & Loctite) fail? Or could you tell if one or the other was the culprit? And, did your Omni-stick work? Thanks,

    • Pearl Younger permalink*
      November 23, 2015 12:00 pm

      Hi Debra, yes both glues failed. But at closer look I failed to get the exterior Loctite glue. I haven’t had the chance to try the Omni-stick yet. Hope to get to it soon.

  2. Debra Bond permalink
    November 23, 2015 6:43 am

    Did your new glue (Omni-stick) work on the bowling ball?

  3. Lois Wade permalink
    December 12, 2016 7:51 pm

    I’ve been doing a bit on research on these, and it appears that prepping the ball is key in making the glues work. The instructions I’ve read recommend a thorough de-greasing followed by sanding the surface to rough it up a bit. The recommended glues were things like plumbing adhesives or silicone sealants that dry clear and are rated for the outdoors.

    • Pearl Younger permalink*
      December 14, 2016 8:37 am

      Thank you, I’ll give it a try.

  4. Brenda permalink
    February 15, 2017 5:33 pm

    Did the New glue work??

    • Pearl permalink*
      February 16, 2017 10:14 am

      Sorry Brenda, I haven’t tried it yet. I’ve been busy with other projects. Hope to get to it soon.

Leave a Reply

