Skip to content

How to remove painted labels from bottles

February 13, 2015

how to remove paint 001

Have you ever seen a beautiful bottle and wished you could use it for something but it has a painted on label? Me too. Well I found out how to remove it! I was looking on Pinterest and found that you could use CLR by placing your bottles in the sink with water and CLR. It worked! But I found it took too long and I used way too much CLR. So this is what I came up with and it works great!

I folded a paper towel in half and splashed a little CLR to saturate .

how to remove paint 002

I then wrapped the paper towel around the bottle and lightly pressed.

how to remove paint 003

Next, I placed the bottle into a Ziploc bag and set it aside for several hours or over night. I found after an hour the blue paint had come off but the white still remained so I left it over night. Remove from bag, wipe clean and you’ll have a very pretty bottle to use. You may have a dot or two of  white paint remaining where the paint was thicker. Just but it back in the bag, it will come off. You may see a ghost print on the bottle but when lit up you can’t see it.

how to remove paint 004

Hope you’ll find this to be a simpler way and your sink will be free to use.

Now go be creative! 🙂

8 Comments leave one →
  1. Linda permalink
    May 7, 2016 9:57 am

    Thanks! I searched & searched for how to remove paint from bottles, but couldn’t find it until now.

    • Pearl Younger permalink*
      May 8, 2016 8:09 pm

      Glad I could help. 🙂

  2. GaRunt permalink
    May 25, 2016 5:06 pm

    I’m going to try this. I have a jar that has a baked on image on it & I want it off.

  3. Charlisa permalink
    February 13, 2017 10:41 am

    Thank you! I was going to try acetone or paint thinner, but this seems easier and safer! I have some candle jars I want to upcycle. So excited!

  4. Robyn permalink
    September 5, 2017 6:44 pm

    Worked great! Thanks.

    • Pearl Younger permalink*
      September 6, 2017 9:03 am

      You are very welcome! 🙂

  5. Kim permalink
    December 2, 2017 1:31 pm

    I must try this because friends and family have been giving me bottles with painted on labels and the razor is messy and dangerous! Thanks

    • Pearl Younger permalink*
      December 7, 2017 8:39 am

      You are very welcome Kim! Anything to make the job easier! 🙂

Leave a Reply

