Skip to content

Fire Starters

October 15, 2012

The first time I heard about these was from my daughter Audrey who found them on Pinterest. She told me they worked great, so I had to give it a go. I started collecting lint from my dryer and then remembered I could get as much lint from work. I brought home two bags of it. I collected egg cartons from home and work and I had left over candles from my daughter’s wedding. I’m set!

First, I started by melting my wax. I use un-scented candles. You can use your leftover scented candles but remember when it’s burning it will smell like that scent. I used an old jar so I didn’t have to clean up my pan.

Then, I laid out some aluminum foil and placed my egg cartons on top just in case the wax went through. I then pressed and packed in tight the lint into the cartons. I also inserted the wicks for my candles. You don’t need to, I just did because I had them.

Once the wax was melted I spooned and poured the wax onto the lint. I put two spoonfuls first and thought it might not be enough so I poured a little more. Only later to find out two spoonfuls was plenty.

Now let them cool. Then cut them apart, leaving the peaks from the carton. These will be your wicks to start them. I used a razor knife, but be CAREFUL not to cut yourself like I did. Ouch! Yep, I’m okay. 🙂

I had to see how they worked so I started one in my pan. It burns great! I even blew it out and it began to restart. I had to douse it with water.

They are so easy to make! I’ll be trying them out this weekend! My daughter told me she used hers to light her charcoal grill. They burned for two hours!

So what’s keeping you…..Get STARTED! And enjoy your fire/grill faster! =0)

2 Comments leave one →
  1. November 13, 2014 3:38 am

    Can you use them in the fire place

    • Pearl Younger permalink*
      November 13, 2014 3:28 pm

      I don’t see why you couldn’t. The first time you use them, you’ll see how great they are and you’ll keep making them.

Leave a Reply

