Skip to content

Mop head

March 8, 2012

Way back in June my hubby bought me a new sewing machine for my birthday. And I love him so much for getting me a new one. It sat in the box for a few months cause I just didn’t have time to sew. Well, one day I needed to do a quick fix and pulled it out and just looked at it and couldn’t use it because I needed to read the manual to figure out how to thread it. So I put it away and pulled out my old one and my hubby walked in the door and gave me a little smack on the head. I laughed and said I needed time to read on how to use it correctly. Well time went on and another quick sewing project came up and once again he shook his head and said “why did I buy you a new one for if you were just going to use the old one.” I laughed again, and told him I’ll use it….I will! Well nine months later….I’ve used it! I made a new mop head for my mop handle.

I didn’t want to go buy a new handle cause there was nothing wrong with the one I had. I made it out of three microfiber towels. I sewed the three together, then sewed a hem on both ends to create a pocket to put a zip tie through it to hold it on cause that’s what held the old one on. Then I cut three slits to the hem line and zigzagged.  I really like it much better then the old mop head (see  it next to the new one). Time to go use it and see how much better it works then the old one! Happy Sewing!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. March 8, 2012 7:29 pm

    Very cool!! I would’ve never thought of doing that. 🙂

  2. March 9, 2012 11:47 am

    And how many times have I been over there since you got it? I could have showed you, we do have the same machine!

Leave a Reply

