Skip to content

The Art of Cursive Writing

November 18, 2011

About a week ago I heard on the news that there are schools that will no longer be teaching children the art of cursive writing. Now I understand we are living in a techno world. It’s all about the mighty keyboard. I use it to write here on my blog. But the thought of not teaching our children how to write in cursive just baffles me. It’s so beautiful! Okay maybe not everyone has beautiful hand writing but it’s still very beautiful. 🙂 They say no one uses it after fourth grade. That’s not true, I write in cursive all the time. I even try to improve on it every time I write. Then I think about the greeting cards one sends out to love ones. What are they going to do, insert it into their computer printer and type out a little note along with their name? Seems a little impersonal. I love writing in cursive and I will continue to do so. If it’s not going to be taught anymore then I’ll teach my grandchildren how to write. Because  “It’s a beautiful thing!” 

One Comment leave one →
  1. November 21, 2011 12:16 pm

    I still kinda use it. I mix print and cursive together so get my own style!

Leave a Reply

