Skip to content

Placemat Headboard

October 5, 2011

Do you like to create your own things? I do! I couldn’t find a headboard for my bedroom that I really loved. So I decided to create one. First, I found these awesome placemats at Wal-Mart on clearance.

Then, my hubby made a frame 5′ x 4′ from 1/2 inch plywood and 1″ x 2″ pine trim to frame out the placemats. We painted the outer wood and glued the place mats to it, used plank parquet adhesive. Bry spread out the glue and I placed the mats. Then we finished it by grouted over the entire thing.

It’s a one of a kind headboard! I love it! Came out great don’t you think!

What will you be creating?

4 Comments leave one →
  1. October 8, 2011 7:12 pm

    This is awesome!!

    I need a headboard too….wanna come do it for me? 😉

    • Pearl Younger permalink*
      October 11, 2011 8:28 pm

      Sure Stephanie! We can do it together! Not that you’d need my help. 😉

  2. October 11, 2011 11:13 am

    Very nice, Pearl! I have been waiting for this one for…awhile! Haha. So-it was cork or wood, right? And the grouting didn’t damage it…making me curious for more details because….. 🙂

    • Pearl Younger permalink*
      October 11, 2011 8:34 pm

      It was wood but cork sounds lovely too! I too was worried about the finish on the placemats when we started to grout it. I told Bry lets just go for it, we did and it came out fine, no scratches at all! What other details can I offer?

Leave a comment