Skip to content

My Love

September 8, 2011

After a rehearsal in 1982 the cast went to Shakey’s pizzeria. I sat at a table with some friends of mine. They got up to get something to drinks and I stayed there at the table with this guy I didn’t know, but we had mutual friends. We sat there for an awkward  moment then he said, “Do you speak?”  I turned to him, gave him one of my looks and answered  “Yes, I speak.” Then I got up and walked away thinking to myself what a jerk. Does this guy think he’s something special.

As time went by this jerk would by around a lot. Always being sarcastic. I didn’t like him very much but like I said, we had the same  friends so I’d have to put up with him. I later started dating his best friend so of corse this ment I’d see him more often. As time went by he didn’t annoy me so much. I started to enjoy his company and I couldn’t stop laughing at his jokes. This guy’s not so bad.

In the fall when school started back up my boyfriend would started questioning me about who I was with at lunch and who drove me home. I openly would tell him. I have no secretes. Turned out my best friend was giving him this info. Then one day as I was walking out of school I noticed that cute black truck. It was him, Bry. I walked up to talk to him and asked what he was doing there. He told me my boyfriend had asked him to pick me up. Well, that was okay with me I never turned down a ride home. Well these ride home  became another ride home, then another and another. Soon we were talking all the time. And when I had a disagreement with my boyfriend I’d talk with him. As time went by and our group of friends would get together we would be clowning around having a good time only to be stopped by my boyfriend. We would stop and laugh.

(Bry’s nifty D50. I loved that truck!)

As more time went by my boyfriend asked me to marry him. I said yes. I know, I know, not a good decision to make at 17. Well time went on and my boyfriend was spending more time with his friends then me. Going out with old girlfriends and laughing about it when I questioned him about it. Buying  expensive items but never buying me a ring. I knew this guy wasn’t serious.  I’d talk to Bry about it. Then when everyone would get together Bry wasn’t there. I’d ask everyone “where’s Bry?” and none of them seem to know.  It wasn’t as fun when he wasn’t there. As time goes by Bry started coming around again and I let him know how I’ve missed him.

More time goes by and we’re all at the school for some rehearsal. My boyfriend and all the other friends have come back to help with sets, sound, lighting. I’m the only one still in school. (I didn’t mention they’re all older than me, by 2 and 3 years. My boyfriend is 21 now.) As people are on stage setting up I notice a girl (who flirted with any boy who took notice of her) on stage talking with my boyfriend. I sat off stage and  quietly watch, and watch, and watch. Anger began to set in. What is he doing!?!! I’m sitting right here and he’s flirting with this girl. I’m talk flirting! He’s so close to her, touching her and her touching him. Would he even notice if left? So I did. I was gone for 20 minutes thinking about what to do and when I come back he had never noticed I was gone. I sit again and glare. Another friend notices me watching him and asked if I’m okay. I look at him and back at them. “Look at that…what is he thinking? He doesn’t even care.” He tries to comfort me. (he’s still a good friend!) I get up tears in my eyes and say “I’ve had it” and walk away. If only I had that ring so I could throw it in his face. To tell that girl she could have him. As I’m leaving I bump into Bry. He had just show up and sees my pain. He asked what’s wrong. I point “that’s what’s wrong. I’m leaving.” Bry grabs me, gives me the BIGGEST hug and whispers in my ear…

“I think I’m falling in love with my best friends girlfriend.” I looked at him, hugged him again and wanted to say the same thing. Then my boyfriend walks up and asks what wrong. (are you kidding me!) I pull away from Bry and walk away. Bry tells him he doesn’t know. My boyfriend catches up with me and says are you ready to go home. 

A few days go by. I haven’t talked with anyone and I know what I have to do so I do it. On his birthday (it just happened to be that day) I tell him it’s over. It’s just not working out, he agree’s with me. It ends. The pain is finally over.

I would later go out with all my friends and it was very awkquard. Cause even when you say you’ll just be friends, you really can’t. 

Now would Bry call me? Should I call him?

Well I can’t remember who called who. But I’m happy one of us did!

(us dating about 1 1/2 years. 1984…I think.)

Cause now after 29 years,  I’ve never stopped loving his company, his jokes. He brings so much happiness to my life. I thank God every day for him. I guess I was wrong. He was something special….special for me! 

Happy 26th Anniversary my love! Looking forward to the next 26!

(yes, yes, I’m a day late. What can say life is busy) 😉
9 Comments leave one →
  1. September 9, 2011 12:32 am

    Oh my gosh – soooooooooooooo cute!!! I love hearing people’s love stories and “beginnings”! I wish that you had posted a pic of the two of you at this time!

    • Pearl Younger permalink*
      September 10, 2011 11:55 am

      I thought of that Stephanie, but I’d have to go through a big box to find one and I wanted to get the post up sooner than later. But I’ll try.:)

  2. September 10, 2011 7:51 am

    As I recall I waited for you to call. I wasn’t sure if you felt the same plus I needed yo to get rid of him. You forgot to mention a couple of things, I beleive my first words to you were” You can sit down I don’t bite.” Also the time we drove Bill crazy splashing each other with the beaded up water on the new carswhile he was trying to buy one. Steph lets just say this, it was the 80’s, long permed hair, ratty jean vest, chain wallet and a bad attitude. Thats what Pearl looked like.

    • Pearl Younger permalink*
      September 10, 2011 11:58 am

      Yes your right, I had forgot you had told me to sit down. I remember now. And the splashing, thats the clowning around I was talking about. Hehhehehee..makes me laugh just thinking about it.;)

  3. September 10, 2011 7:59 am

    Not really. I had the perm, vest, wallet, and attitude. She was and is beautiful. She has been my best friend ever since. I’m so grateful that she called back. I don’t know where I would be without her. Oh and Pearl how about the time we shared an ice cube in front of him… good times, good times.

    • Pearl Younger permalink*
      September 10, 2011 12:04 pm

      Yep, you were one scary dude! heheeehee! But one big teddy bear! Im one lucky girl to have you!!!!

      The ice cube!!!! I can’t believe you mentioned that…hhehehheee! Well he should have payed more attention to me. I felt bad after…. but not really bad.

  4. September 12, 2011 1:02 pm

    Very sweet. Very funny. Very romantic. Very hilarious. And Bryan – way to work a heeartbreak moment!!

  5. September 14, 2011 1:15 pm

    I LOVE the photos! Hahahaha – you guys are great and so sweet:)

Leave a Reply

