Skip to content

Cattle grub larvae…Disgusting!!

August 12, 2011

You are probably wondering why on earth I’d be writing about this. Well last Sunday Bry was giving Roddy (our dog) a back scratch and noticed a couple of bug bits on his side. Didn’t think much of it cause he gets them. There have been times he’d come into the house after playing with bee’s and his face would look like a cartoon caricature. I’ll have to get a picture of that some day. So I thought he was probably just playing with bee’s again. On Wednesday Bry took a look at the bits again and noticed movement…..did you just get creeped out too…. Bry said Pearl come look at this. I was like NO! All I could think about was all those movies of creatures bursting out. I wasn’t having that thing bursting out onto my face! ~SHIVERS~  Well I did look… at a little bit and something moving… SHIVERS.. I could just see this creature peeking out and getting ready to attack! My son Steven comes to look and says to me squeeze it…EEWW NO!!!  I quickly got up and washed my hands several times and told Bry and Steven to do the same. Oh, I forgot to tell you this all happened just before going to bed. So now I got this feeling things are crawling all over me. Thank goodness I didn’t dream about it. We took Roddy to the vet the next day. The vet told us he had three of them and could have more (but we don’t think so). That we were lucky because the fly could lay up to 100 eggs.  They see them more on cattle, in open field areas around long grass. Well our neighbors have long grass, it’s like we have an open field. They only have seen two cases a year on dogs. Why did it have to be my dog! The funny thing about this is Roddy is in the house more than outside. Like 90% of the time.

Roddy is doing better. He has a large bald spot (cause the vet doesn’t know how to just shave the small areas. she even apologized), he’s on meds and we have to clean the area daily. Those pests cost us $170. All they did was squeeze them out (like Steven said) and wash the area out. But I don’t know that I could have done it.

I’m finding I don’t like being a pet owner. It’s always something with this dog of mine. My parents never had these problem with their dogs. I guess that’s why I thought it wouldn’t be awful to own a dog. He’s a good dog, an awesome dog and I love him. I just can’t handle the cost of owning them. I guess it’s becuase I think about the many hunger people I could have feed with that money.

Just sayin.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. August 13, 2011 10:44 pm

    Oh, yikes!!!

Trackbacks

  1. La Mosca Del Diablo «

Leave a Reply

