Skip to content

A Successful Women

August 9, 2011

The other day a coworker was talking to me about something her boyfriend said to her. He said “When we get married, we’ll go back to school”. She said no (she struggled in school). He then said to her, “Don’t you want to be successful?”

This got me thinking. Does society believe you have to go to school to be successful? What does the word really mean?

suc·cess·ful  

suc·cess·ful [sək séssf’l]adj
1.  turning out well: having the intended result 
2.  popular: popular and making a lot of money a successful play 
3.  with record of significant achievements: having achieved or gained much, especially wealth, fame, or power 

It means  something a little different to me. I believe  KNOW I’m a successful women! I didn’t go to college. In fact I graduated High school with a 4.0 gpa and could only read at a 3rd grade level. But that’s a story for another time. I don’t believe popularity, wealth, fame or power makes you a successful women. Not that they’re a bad thing, just that you can be a HUGE success without them.

I consider myself successful!

  • I’ve been with my love for 29 years, married 26 of those years and have loved every smooth and bumpy road of it.
  • I’ve got two of the best children in the world! Successful in their own lives too.
  • I’m creative without an art degree.
  • The list goes on and on.

  I will not allow anyone to tell me I can only be successful if I go to college. Sure I can achieve more, but my Lord above gave me my success!

Just sayin. Oh and I’ve raised my reading level on my own. If that’s not successful I don’t know what is!

 

One Comment leave one →
  1. August 10, 2011 12:58 pm

    I LIKE your idea of success.

Leave a Reply

