Skip to content

The bag goes POP!

April 8, 2011

Have you ever had one of those bags of chips that was so full of air that it was hard to open? Have you ever opened one of those bags by squeezing it at the bottom forcing the air from it causing it to pop very loud? When I worked at an elementary school lots of  kids would do it. It never bothered me, I thought it was all in fun but it wasn’t allowed. Heaven forbid kids have fun at school.

 The reason I ask is:

Today I went to lunch with my son and he had one of those bags and he couldn’t get it open. He looked at me with a smile and said “do you remember” as he started to squeeze it.  With a smile on my face and  my eyes as big as doughnuts I said “NO!” He said “I’ll do it under the table and we can look surprised and look around in wonder as where the sound came from.” I continued to say “No, no, no, don’t!” Still smiling because deep down inside I did want him to do it. I wanted to see the reaction on the faces of the full restaurant. I giggled and said “No, (as he was getting closer to popping it) remember the bank that called the police because a party balloon popped.” We laughed!

It would have been funny, I should have let him do it. But people just can’t take a joke these days.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Audrey permalink
    April 8, 2011 5:03 pm

    We had one pop in our car last summer on the way to the cabin. Scared me half to death!

  2. April 10, 2011 6:51 am

    You know that if he was at lunch with me he would have popped it!

Leave a Reply

