Skip to content

Stonebrook Manor sign

April 5, 2011

 

This is my latest project. To make a new sign for Stonebrook Manor that would look like there sign outside their building. It will be used at bridal shows to promote their business. I’ve been working on it since November. I’m so glad I didn’t have a dead line cause I work much better at my own leisure, which I don’t have a whole lot of these days. I couldn’t tell you how long it took me. I’d work on it for 20 minutes then put it away. Then I’d work an hour or two and get frustrated because it wasn’t doing what I wanted it to do. Then Christmas came along and I put it way for a month. My friend Bill, one of the owners of Stonebrook Manor told me to keep track of the hours I put in so they could pay me, but I just couldn’t do that. I put a lot of hours into it.

Here is how I started. I thought about how big I wanted to make it and then drew it out 3’x5′.

 Then I drew and carved out styrofoam bricks, rocks and that peak thingy on top. (hehheehee! I don’t know they’re called.)

Next, I paper mache over the whole thing using Mod Podge.

Then it was time for paint! Here you see the rocks. They were so hard to do but once I got started it went fast. Can you see the real rocks sitting on top? I did go back and painted between the rocks. I think I did okay on them! They’re my favorite part of the sign! 

Here are the bricks and the lettering. The lettering took me 5 1/2 hours to do. I think it was the hardest thing to do.

I finished it up with some plants. There were a few things I didn’t like (like any artist) about it. The bricks are a little crooked, the peeks are lumpy and the lettering is a little shaky and just a little off straight. The foam it’s on gives it the illusion its way off because of its grain. Here it is, side by side with the real sign.

I think I did alright! It’ll do. Pearl. It’ll do.

Update: I asked my friend if she’d take a picture for me when they used the sign. She did, this is what she told me.

Hi Pearl,

Here are pictures from the Rocky Mountain Bridal Show. The sign was beautiful!

We even got a wedding contract the actual day of the show and I’m convinced it’s because of you!
You have such talent!!
Love, Candi

Thanks Candi! =0)   

12 Comments leave one →
  1. April 5, 2011 12:59 pm

    Are you kidding me?!?! It’s absolutely fantastic!!! Wow – it honestly blows my mind. You made that. By hand.

    Amazing.

    • Pearl Younger permalink*
      April 5, 2011 4:32 pm

      Thanks Stephanie. =0)

  2. Stefane Phipps permalink
    April 5, 2011 3:03 pm

    Ok?? Ok?? This is MORE than ok! It’s SPECTACULAR! You are seriously gifted, my friend! PHENOMENAL job!

    • Pearl Younger permalink*
      April 5, 2011 4:36 pm

      Thanks. Spectacular…aw shucks.

  3. Anna M. Fernandez permalink
    April 7, 2011 4:50 pm

    Pearl ,

    You are so talented! You could market signs for businesses and make a profit, instead of the plastic banners . I’m jealous !!! :0( that I don’t have time to do my art work :0) , but I will start making time and get back into it because you inspire me so MUCH!!!

    • Pearl Younger permalink*
      April 7, 2011 6:19 pm

      Thanks sis! Yes, you do need to make time for your art and it’s I that am jealous of the wonderful things you can do!! Wish I had taken art classes.

  4. April 10, 2011 6:52 am

    The best part is the awesome handcrafted aluminum hook for hanging it!

  5. April 16, 2011 11:13 am

    It tuned out amazing! I was wondering how it could withstand being moved a lot but that “new” technique of paper-macheing surely gives it added strength, yes?? Very cool. Your attention is crazy and i SO would have printed the lettering and Mod-Podged that, too, which is why you are amazing and I caould never do this in a million!!

  6. Rich ROberts permalink
    March 8, 2013 3:14 pm

    Great Job!!! , can I pick your brain and ask if you thought with enough decoupage it could be strong enough for back-splash in a kitchen? Is it strong enough on the surface? I really like it and the patterns are endless, Can you tell you got this artist excited LOL

    • Pearl Younger permalink*
      March 8, 2013 5:23 pm

      Thanks Rich! I’ve never worked with decoupage before, but I do remember my mom using it and it seemed very strong. I just might have to try that soon!:) But before I’d use it, I’d test it first to make sure it doesn’t react with the foam. Some products melt it. Sure would hate to see my finished piece melt. LOL Hope that’s some help to you. Glad to see someone excited about foam like me! 🙂

  7. Rich ROberts permalink
    March 8, 2013 5:33 pm

    Thank you I will keep you informed and send pics whether or not it works, and if it doesn’t, then I will try something else.

    • Pearl Younger permalink*
      March 8, 2013 5:38 pm

      That would be awesome! Id love to see pics!

Leave a Reply

