Skip to content

The Joy of Sewing

March 30, 2011

Lately I’ve been enjoying the things my daughter has been making. Soon she’ll be making a dress for a wedding she’ll be attending.I can’t wait to see that!  I’ve also been enjoying a friends web site maydae.com and the beautiful things they’ve been sewing. I too love to sew but I don’t sew as often as I once did. That saddens me. 

My mom taught me how to sew when I was 11 or 12 years old. I feel in love with it. I took classes in middle school and high school. My teachers were amazed at what I could do. When I took classed in high school my teacher would just let me do whatever I wanted. I’d make my own cloths and never could take them home when I was finished because she wanted to display them. They would sit in that window case for weeks. I’d have to beg her to let me take it home. But she’d get me started on something new she had read about to get my mind off my clothing. And it worked. I alway wanted to learn something new.

Shortly after high school I sewed my first quilt for my boyfriend for Christmas. He still has it and we use it every night. When I had my little girl I made her so many things. I even made up my own patterns of little dresses, she looked so cute in them. Then I just stopped sewing. I only used my sewing machine to mend. Every now and then I’d make a quilt get frustrated because my machine would go out of timing and I couldn’t get it repaired so it sat, and sat and sat. I remember sewing my parent-in-laws two quilt that got burnt in their motor home. They were valued at $150 each. I was shocked, I didn’t think they were worth that. Mom and Dad said to them they were.

I thought I’d share a few of the things I’ve sewn.

When my daughter was getting married I just had to make something! I made this backdrop for her wedding.I really need to make something like this again! Sorry it’s not a very good picture, I couldn’t find the one I took up close. grrr.

 I needed a cover for my bible so I made this.

I made this quilt for my granddaughter. I also made her this bath towel.

I also made this Heavenfest backdrop. I had so much fun making it.

 I’ve been SO inspiring by all these young ladies! As soon as I fix my machine (or perhaps I’ll go get a new one) I’ve got plans to make something really fun!

Happy Sewing! =0)

2 Comments leave one →
  1. March 30, 2011 7:33 pm

    You are an awesome seamstress! I wish I could be as good as you:) Oh, and thanks for the shout-out! 🙂

  2. Audrey permalink
    March 31, 2011 3:48 pm

    My mom taught me at about 7 and I’m glad she did. Now I can make that dress that I couldn’t have if she never taught me.

    You should get yourself a Brother like the one you bought for me. It’s an amazing machine!

Leave a Reply

