Skip to content

Keep the Change

January 21, 2011

Have you ever heard that commercial from Bank of America about keeping the change. Every time you use your debit card they round-up to the next dollar and they match you dollar for dollar for your savings. Something like that. Well, my bank doesn’t offer that. But I thought to myself what a great way to save money. I could do that, I don’t need a bank to do something so simple for me. Before I had a debit card I’d throw my change into a jar, mostly because I didn’t like using it. The jar would fill up and I’d have to lug that heavy thing to the bank  to cash it in. Well, I figured all I’d have to do is add a column to my bank ledger (I make my own ledgers cause the ones you get are never big enough) and round my spending up.  I rounded up on every transaction. At the end of each ledger I’d add up the change saved and carry it over to the next page. (Probably not a good idea cause then you know how much money you have.) Now that a year has gone by I have saved just over $400! Now I need to transfer it to my savings account. I still have a change jar, for the times I pay with cash. When its full I’ll donate it so I don’t have to cash it in. My last jar went to my daughter. I was happy to bless her and I don’t think she minded to much to have to lug the thing to a change machine.

So if I can do it, so can you! Happy savings!! 

4 Comments leave one →
  1. audrey permalink
    January 22, 2011 7:59 am

    The teller wasn’t so happy though!

  2. February 15, 2011 11:00 pm

    That’s a great idea! Question, do you use coupons? I am looking for someone to teach me:)

    • Pearl Younger permalink*
      February 16, 2011 3:38 pm

      Ya, its great! I don’t use coupons. I once saw a women at the store with two carts full and a ton of coupons. When the cashier was finished her total was $5. I asked her what her secret was and she told me she wasn’t telling anyone. I didn’t think that was very nice. When you find out how it work Stephanie please let me know. =0)

  3. March 12, 2011 12:29 pm

    That IS so mean!!! She should have shared the secret with you! I subscribe to your blog now via Bloglovin, so I am just waiting for your next post! 🙂

Leave a Reply

