Skip to content

Sculptures

October 4, 2010

There’s  something about sculptures that makes my mind and emotions move. I wonder what the artist was thinking and how it made them feel when they made the piece. Did they know how it would move other when looking at it. I think so.  Here are a few (most can be found right here in Denver, CO) for your enjoyment. I love them all.

 

Broom and Dustpan a 35 foot high sculpture at the Denver’s Art Museum. By artists Coosje van Bruggen and Claes Oldenburg. Now thats a Big sweep!

“Jurassic Leaves” Located at East Louisiana Avenue and Buchtel Boulevard in Denver near a lightrail stop, Junoworks built and installed this sculpture. I sure hope all those people that ride the lightrail stop and really look  and enjoy this. I’m kinda jelous that I don’t get to see these everyday.

Denver Zoo Animal Sculptures. There are many more in the zoo, but this is my favorite one.

Sorry this one isn’t in Colorado. Sad I know. I just fell in love with it when I was looking at sculptures on-line.

These are fun sculptures! By Balloonatics in Colorado. Wouldn’t you just love to get one of these. It would definitely put a smile on my face! Just go to show sculpture come in many forms.

This one is off Speer Boulevard between the theatres of the Denver Performing Arts Complex, by Jonathan Borofshy “Dancers”.

Yes, it’s a sculpture, in my minds eye! This was my granddaughts first birthday cake. Made by my beautiful friend Jeanie.  We didn’t want to eat it, it was so beautiful. I had a tear in my eye when we cut into it. But let me tell you, it way YUMMY!!!

Entry sculpture at the Lola restaurant in Denver, CO.  Mountain Glassworks. Love glass sculptures!

The Ballet Dancers, a downtown public art display. I love these!

Designed by DiAnne L. Cooper, the sculpture is 20 feet high by 24 feet wide. In Thornton, CO. I need to go see these!

This piece can be found in my house,  “Praise” by Pearl  A. Younger . I’m thinking (just thinking) about selling it. Wonder if anyone would buy it?

Take a trip and visit all these beautiful pieces of art or better yet, start sculpting! (Sorry you can’t see the cake anymore it’s all gone. ;o) )

(Photos found on google search) except mine.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Audrey permalink
    October 4, 2010 8:25 pm

    I was hoping you were going to put the dancers on there. They put a smile on my face every time I see them..

  2. October 5, 2010 9:10 am

    I love ALL of these!! Denver does have some really great art – next time I am down there I will try to stop and admire it:)

    Here is another one of my favs in Denver:

    http://www.travelpod.com/travel-photo/lroff/world_2006-2007/1144822920/15-big-blue-bear-art.jpg/tpod.html#

  3. October 31, 2010 12:33 pm

    My cake as sculpture…awwww….thanks!

Leave a Reply

